The School Board

...... heard Board member Anne VonDerVellen recite the Elkhart Promise.

..... approved the following items under a consent approval:

Minutes – June 13, 2023 – Regular Board Meeting

Claims in the amount of \$8,024,071.64.

Proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy.

Gift Acceptance

Accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS): thermometers and blood pressure cuffs to Elkhart Area Career Center (EACC) from Heart City Health, care of Willie Brown, to be used by students in the classroom for training purposes; \$1,336 to Elkhart High School (EHS) Athletic Department from the Indianapolis Colts Foundation, Inc. to assist with the outfitting of Elkhart Community Schools' (ECS) emerging middle school sports teams; \$1,000 to EHS football team from the Indianapolis Colts Foundation, Inc. to assist with the growth of the EHS football team; and \$2,500 to the Teenage Parent Program (TAPP) from Paths to Quality to be used to help where needed in the program.

Conference Leave Requests

Submission of the following grants: School Violence Prevention Program (SVPP) hosted by Corey Partners in the amount of \$100,000 for welding equipment and storage racking for safe receipts and storage of materials.

Personnel Report:

Agreement to authorize District Counsel/Chief of Staff to execute any settlement documents on behalf of ECS related to litigation, subsequent to review of the same by members of the Board of School Trustees.

Employment of fourteen (14) certified employees for 2023/24 school year: Gina Blackburn, grade 5 at Monger; Cara Burkett, speech pathologist at Exceptional Learners; Cassandra Cepeda, business education at EHS; Brenda Cruz, ENL at EHS; Julie DeWit, kindergarten at Osolo; Laura Ebbens, district EL coach at ESC; Benjamin Ertner, grade 6 at Daly; Tina Jones, special education at EHS; Evelyn Mathews, ENL at Daly; Heidi Miller, kindergarten at Daly; Alicia Nagel, grade 2 at Eastwood; Robin Shaffer, special education/alternative education at Pierre Moran; Mary Smith, grade 5 at Osolo; and Jesse Tindle, construction trades at EACC.

Retirement of the following two (2) certified staff: Jon Chevalier, director of transportation at Transportation and Timothy Myers, grade 3/4 split at Roosevelt.

Resignation of the following four (4) certified staff: Matthew Garber, assistant principal at Beck; John Moran, science at West Side; Courtney Wesdorp, kindergarten at Beardsley; Ryan Wixon, physical education at EHS.

Resignation of the following two (2) classified employees: Kathryn Bobson, registered behavior technician at Eastwood and Sherriann Gard, paraprofessional at Osolo.

Retirement of the following one (1) classified employee: Mary Baker, secretary at PACE.

Unpaid leave for the following one (1) classified employees: Haley Burkhart, therapist at PACE.

Termination of the following one (1) classified employee: Charity Ives, custodian at Woodland.

Death of the following one (1) classified employee: Travis Jackson, assistant head custodian at Freshman Division.

- unanimously authorized the bulk sale of iPads having reached the end of the lifecycle.
- received the monthly financial report and found everything to be in order.
- received the monthly insurance report.
- heard an audience member express concerns about ECS leadership.
- heard an audience member voice concerns about the process for Transportation employment listings.
- heard an audience member speak to the state of the district.